Financial Assistance for Pet Emergencies

January 18, 2008

When I was in college, I saw a woman and her two kids walking down the street with their dog who was off leash. The dog ran out in the road and was hit by a car. The people stopped, but then decided to walk away, even though the dog was still alive–laying injured in the street. I jumped out of my car to help, then started screaming at the people because they didn’t have their dog on leash and now they were walking away from their dying dog. I remember the woman saying they didn’t have any money to help their dog.

I can’t imagine not being able to afford medical care for my pets. I know medical costs for treating an animal that’s sick or injured can be prohibitive. I’ve put together a list of organizations who help people and organization who are trying to help sick or injured animals. Maybe this information will help someone.

So back to that dog by the curb–he was a shepherd and he was beautiful. A passer-by helped me move him out of the street and over to the sidewalk. I waited with the dog as he struggled to breathe until animal rescue showed up. I helped load the dog into the truck. I’m sure he was euthanized as soon as he arrived at the shelter. I’m so sorry I couldn’t help him.

Leave a Reply

