Poodles on the Loose!

November 17, 2007

I almost backed over two little white poodles pulling out of my driveway Friday morning. The little monsters were running and playing and had no interest in getting caught. I alerted my neighbors through the homeowners association email list–just in case these little pups belonged to someone.

It was so nice to get responses from other concerned neighbors! It seems that several people were on the lookout for them or concerned about their well being.

After work, I took Wrigley for a walk, hoping to spot the Poodles. No luck.

Saturday morning, I decided to make a loop around the park, near the last spot the dogs were spotted. I was in luck! There they were, sleeping under a tree. I was expecting a chase or at least a lot of coaxing, but the let me leash them up and load them into the car–no problem!

After a nap, we went to the vet. We have a male (Clyde) and a female (Bonnie). They’re covered with fleas, but otherwise in OK shape. Clyde is light heartworm positive, but that’s treatable. Neither are fixed. Of all of the animals I’ve rescued, I think only one has been fixed.

I’ll spend the evening contacting Poodle and other small dog rescue to see if I can get these guys placed in a nice foster organization. In the mean time, I hear them snoring. Happy dogs.

More to come about these two…

Bonnie and Clyde lounging

Leave a Reply

