Rescue Groups Aren’t the Bad Guys

October 19, 2007

I work for a living, so I don’t watch daytime TV. Actually, if I didn’t work, I still wouldn’t watch daytime TV.

This week, daytime TV invaded my life anyway with all of the press given to Ellen DeGeneres’ dramatic, tearful story about Iggy, a dog she adopted, rehomed, then was repo-ed by the rescue group.

Whether you agree or disagree with what Moms and Mutts did with Iggy, the fact is that Ellen (actually Portia di Rossi, her partner) signed a contract agreeing to the very process that took place. So is it the rescue group’s fault that Ellen/Portia didn’t read what they were signing?

As a foster, I’m glad there are fairly strict requirements for adoption. I know I’ve spent a significant amount of time, money, and effort with each of my fosters and I want to know where they’re going and that they will be in good hands for the rest of their lives.

I’m concerned all of this press will give rescue groups and shelters that have specific adoption requirements a bad name and it will drive more people to pet stores or certain breeders who simply sell animals and do not try to match an owner with a pet to give it a forever home.

One Response to “Rescue Groups Aren’t the Bad Guys”


Leave a Reply

