Not Just Rescuing Dogs This Week

October 11, 2007

It was getting close to bedtime last Thursday and I heard a knock at the door. I peeked out the window and saw Shea, the homeless woman who has lived in the park near my house with her two dogs for the last two years. She was holding some kind of fur ball.

She explained that this tiny, dirty, bag of bones kitten keeps hanging around her and her dogs and she was concerned about it and she knew I could help. (She brought me an injured pigeon once, too.) Being the complete sucker, er, I mean animal lover that I am, I took the kitty in. I set her up in the bathroom, cleaned her ears and wiped her down a bit. I showed her a litterbox and gave her food and water.

When I checked on her in the morning, all was well. She’d even used the litterbox and not the floor, which is good. (Cats are just smart that way.) That evening after work, I ran her over to a discount veterinarian for a once-over and vaccinations. She purred the entire time–even while getting the shots. He estimated her age at 12 weeks.

She’s a cute long-haired yellow, white, and brown calico. I call her Butter because I’m not very creative when it comes to pet names. I hope to get her into the HOPE foster program ASAP. She gets spayed in a couple of days. I’d love another cat, but our current cat–my husband’s cat–is a one cat-cat.

This is butter.
Butter the rescue kitten

2 Responses to “Not Just Rescuing Dogs This Week”

  1. fuzzywuzzyblog Says:

    Butter is a beautiful little girl. I hope she finds a nice family. =)


  2. […] hand, are another story. It’s been a long time since I’ve had to give a cat medicine. Butter, my foster kitten, is on three different meds at the moment–ear drops and two liquids. Twice a day, I have to […]


Leave a Reply

